Random News, Bboy Videos & a note about AIR

I know quite a few people heading down to New Orleans for the Ultimate Lindy Hop Showdown this weekend.  For those of us who can’t go, Slick Rik posted news on his blog that NOLA.com will be streaming live video of the Saturday night dance and contests on their website.   If we’re lucky, they’ll also have it available for viewing afterwards too.  Don’t worry, I’ll keep an eye out for you.

For those of you wondering when the next installment of “Artistry in Rhythm” is going up, you may have to wait a little longer.   As you may know, I wrote it two years ago, and up until this point I’ve been posting it with minor edits.   A little over half of it has been posted, but now I’ve hit a point that needs to be updated and re-written.   I’m going to try to get it up by Friday, but if not, I’ll work on it during the long weekend while everyone else I know is partying it up at ULHS.

I’ve been trying to work on it tonight, but I got distracted by YouTube.

I stopped by Crafty Bastards this past weekend.  It’s sponsored by the Washington City Paper as a way for local artists and crafts people to showcase and sell their wares.  For some reason, it also features a killer bboy battle.

I was able to track down clips of some of my favorite battles from that weekend.  James Brown is timeless.

Prince of Petworth, DCist, and ReadySetDC have posts featuring sweet dance pics from that event.

That reminded me that I haven’t posted the Phillipine All Stars winning the World Hip Hop Championships routine from this past summer featuring a super bad ass ending.

Speaking of bad ass Filipino dancers the JabbaWockeeZ toured the Philippines last month, appeared on some of the bigger variety shows, and even unmasked and chatted it up.  Turns out there’s a few pinoy brothers in that crew.  I knew there was a reason why I liked them.

3 Comments

  1. Bill said,

    October 8, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    Quote: For some reason, it also features a killer bboy battle.

    I think you answered your own question with that statement. That’s akin to saying “For some reason, a Lindy Hop event also featured a crazy badass jam.”

    Love the Artistry in Rhythm, by the way. Wonderful stuff.

    • Jerry said,

      October 8, 2009 at 9:22 pm

      That only makes sense if Crafty Bastards is some big hip hop festival. It’s not. It’s an arts and crafts fair with people selling handmade postcards, jewelry, and such which is why I always thought the bboy component seems so random.

  2. Thom said,

    October 12, 2009 at 10:06 am

    I just wanted to say how much I’m enjoying the AIR series. Your analysis is insightful in and of itself, but the series also really enhances my understanding of the history and social context of the current renaissance – things that are easily missed by those of us based further afield (I’m in Europe) and who have been dancing for a relatively short period (just over four years in my case).

    Thanks.


Leave a Reply

