The Shape of Things to Come

Yep.

I’m not going to be one of those people who is going to apologize for not updating his blog in awhile because really, I never promised you a regular posting schedule.  However, I do realize that a ton of people hit this site every day for some reason, so in order to satiate your thirst for knowledge and entertainment, stepping into the role of designated blogger for the next few posts is the lovely and gracious Karen Turman.

Karen made the mistake of sending me a little treatise about her now legendary “Evolution of Lindy Hop” showcase routine at ILHC.  After some badgering, begging, and pleading, I convinced her to let me post it on this very blog just because I think it’s super interesting.  Plus she doesn’t know it yet, but I want it someplace convenient so I can cite it for the stunning conclusion to my own “Artistry In Rhythm” paper.

I think Karen’s paper fits nicely with the themes we’ve been exploring here and I’m pretty sure you’ll enjoy reading it as much as I did.  I’m going to post it in several parts over the next few weeks so as not to hit you over the head with too much awesome all at once.  Plus I need time to format it and shove in some helpful videos.

Speaking of which, I’ll post some of my own videos of bands and dancers that I’ve recorded over the past few weeks to break up Karen’s dance geekery.  Somewhere in there I’ll try to comment on ULHS and find some other old posts to toss onto the site until stuff settles down in my own life for me to post regularly again.

I also want to give you a sneak peak into the ILHC LED Talks that happened this year.  The plan is to get them online to share with the community as soon as I can get them edited nicely and posted onto the ILHC website. If you have any expeience with such things, please drop me a line.

Overall, the talks were super informative and thought provoking.  I thought I’d share a snippet of an important discussion with event co-directors Nina Gilkenson, Tena Morales, and Sylvia Sykes where they discuss their vision for ILHC.

Video credit: David Soltysik

8 Comments

  1. Sarah C said,

    October 8, 2010 at 2:24 am

    Oh hell yes. I can’t wait.

    Also, I’m surprised ILHC wanted to be so divisive. The content of that lecture’s going to hit on some major nerves.

  2. Jerry said,

    October 8, 2010 at 7:51 am

    I guess I should also note the controversial contributions of Mark Kihara, Andrew Thigpen, and Bobby Bonesy. The whole is just a little disturbing.

  3. October 12, 2010 at 12:11 am

    Yep.
    I should stop doing apologizing for that, damn it.

    Also, Karen = Awesome. Also, I had the absolute pleasure of hang out with Allen Kerr this weekend. He is one badass person. Just sayin’…

  4. Karen said,

    October 12, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    Um…it warms my heart that you posted that karaoke clip–I was napping during that one but rushed down to catch the end of the Back Street Boys and fulling participate in the Bohemian Rhapsody. Wow, ILHC=the bomb.

    • Jerry said,

      October 12, 2010 at 12:55 pm

      I don’t know what karaoke clip you’re talking about. This is a brutal no hold barred controversy laden discussion about the state of Lindy Hop. In musical form.

      • Tena Morales said,

        October 12, 2010 at 10:59 pm

        Word! Apparently Karen is not understanding the cultural and historical significance of this timely and topical discussion.

    • Tena Morales said,

      October 12, 2010 at 11:00 pm

      You are correct. ILHC=Explosive Device

  5. Karen said,

    October 13, 2010 at 7:28 am

    Yes, Tena, I truly did have the time of my life. And I’d never felt that way before. I swear, it’s the truth! And I owe it all to you….

    But my question for you is: Scaramouche, Scaramouche, will you do the fandango?


Leave a Reply

