The Blue Dress Dance

Over on Swungover, Bobby ventures once more into the breach of dance analogies by busting them all out.

They’re all fun, but I thought I’d put this one in context.

The Spotlight
On the other side, these are the dances where the leader gets an electric follower setting everything around them on fire. A smart leader just takes a back seat, becomes the dancing equivalent of a hype-man, and lets the magic happen. A few will understand exactly what I mean when I say “Nina Gilkenson Blue Dress Dance.”

He’s referring to Nina dancing with Marty Klempner in the Cats’ Corner Division (Champions Strictly Lindy Hop) at The 2007 American Lindy Hop Championships.   And yes, they won.

I remember riding back down to DC with Naomi Uyama, which is about a 7-8 drive from Stamford, CT.  Every once in awhile, no matter where we were in our conversation, we would just suddenly stop and say something like , “Damn, that Blue Dress Dance was amazing.”  Over and over again, the whole way down.

4 Comments

  1. Michael Seguin said,

    January 17, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    Jerry,
    This is truly one of the greatest dance moments ever. But this video raises a very important question that you neglect in your post: What is going on with Klempner’s shoes? The people want to know.

    • Jerry said,

      January 17, 2011 at 8:40 pm

      You know in all the times I’ve watched this clip, not once has it occurred to me to look at Klempner’s feet. I guess we know what you’re into.

      I’m not judging.

  2. January 18, 2011 at 2:09 am

    […] The Spotlight On the other side, these are the dances where the leader gets an electric follower setting everything around them on fire. A smart leader just takes a back seat, becomes the dancing equivalent of a hype-man, and lets the magic happen. A few will understand exactly what I mean when I say “Nina Gilkenson Blue Dress Dance.” […]

  3. January 25, 2011 at 1:06 am

    […] lines, I start asking myself what separates me from the dancers I think are truly great and who I admire and look up to.  (Answer: a lot.  But I mean, I try to get into specifics.)  This happened a few […]


Leave a comment