Rhythm Method

I still don’t have a whole lot of time to devote to a long form blog post that I’ve been thinking about.  I have been updating the Facebook page on a daily basis, even multiple times a day. Its just an easier and quicker way for me to share random things I come across or that people send to me.

However, I don’t want to neglect the blog so I thought I’d keep with the drumming theme from last week and spotlight my favorite swing drummers of today. I’ve been telling myself that this would make for a great analysis of jazz drumming, but that will have to wait for another day when I have more time.

I’ll start off with Brooks Tegler, who The Jam Cellar just happens to be bringing to Glen Echo this weekend. Fancy that. I uploaded a few videos of him leading his big band the last time he played for us, but I wanted to spotlight him with a small group simply to go with the other videos I’m posting.  I found this great video of him and the Midiri Brothers re-creating a Benny Goodman Quartet version of the blazing “Runnin’ Wild.”  The video quality is a little blurry, but that won’t stop you from hearing Tegler swinging it so hard that he’s unfazed by losing his hi-hat midway through. It’s also interesting to note that the MC points out that Tegler is playing on a vintage drum kit from the 1930’s.

Next up is my perennial favorite band, The Boilermaker Jazz Band featuring Rich Strong on drums. I took this video myself when they played Glen Echo last October.  They’re here performing a hot version of “Lady, Be Good.”

Lastly, here’s a video I took of Jonathan Stout and His Campus 5 at ILHC last year. The drummer is Josh Collazo tearing up a version of “Jammin’ The Blues.”  My favorite part is his duet/duel with saxophonist Albert Alva towards the end.

Bonus: I have not heard them live, but I like what I’ve heard of the Carling Family Band. Dancers coming out of Herrang every year claim that this is the best dance band in Europe due in part to drummer Ulf Carling. See him here spotlighted alongside tappers Josette and Jospeh Wiggan and absolutely slaying Chester Whitmore.

1 Comment

  1. Joe said,

    February 2, 2012 at 3:00 pm

    Those are some killer drummers, you’re missing one though! His name is Josh Duffee. He plays in many bands in the midwest, and is the president of the Bix Society. He focuses on the music of Goldkette and Krupa. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wD2BU0RZSnw

    He is actually working to do a really great concert recreation this summer at the Bix Festival in Iowa. Recreating the most famous Benny Goodman concert.


Leave a comment